实验室中的理科学生

生命科学专业本科预科项目

关于此专业方向

生命科学专业本科预科项目可助您升读萨里大学生物学和化学相关学科的学位。

本科预科项目就读期间,您将学习到经过精心设计且符合学术发展方向的课程,包括核心的学科基础课以及学科专业课。

如果您需要提高英语水平,以达到本科预科项目要求的级别,欢迎参加我们的英语预备课程

为什么在我校攻读生命科学?

世界一流的学术水平
我们的生命科学预科课程助您升读各种学位,让您能够深入钻研一系列令人振奋的领域,每个领域都有独特的优势。萨里大学的生物学学位获得了英国皇家生物学会的认证,其化学学位对开创性的国际研究至关重要,萨里大学的营养学在《泰晤士报》和《星期日泰晤士报》2022 年优秀大学指南中名列英国第三。

实际工作经验
在通过我们的生命科学㐓课程打下坚实基础后,您可以升读本科学位,继续培养您的学术和就业技能。您可以参加一年的专业培训,此培训让您能够进入劳动力市场,检验您的实践技能。一年的专业培训能帮助您进一步了解您未来的职业生涯,也能为您的简历添彩。

培养可付诸实践的技能

与计划升读生命科学领域不同学位的同学们一起学习。这意味着您将与不同的人打交道,培养可付诸实践的技能,如团队合作、问题解决和沟通交流技能。当您身处公司环境时,这些都是宝贵的品质。

请注意:攻读营养学与饮食学理学学士学位(荣誉)和 BVMSci 兽医学专业的升读学位有额外的条件,请参见本页面底部的信息。

核心课程

学术英语技能
学术英语技能课程旨在提供语言和相关学术技能方面的全面培训,以便国际学生在大学最大限度地发挥其学术潜力。我们的学术英语课程由英国政府机构 UK ENIC 批准,该机构负责在全球范围内提供有关资格与技能的信息和专家意见。

本课程将培养您的意识和能力,发展一系列语言相关的学术技能,这些技能包括学术写作、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。您还将在学术环境下,明确、自信地学习有效且适当使用语言所需要具备的准确、适度范围的书面和口头语言。

除了课程学习,您还能通过在线学习平台学习,该平台为您提供一系列专门设计的任务和活动,以在课堂外培养和拓展您的语言和学术技能,并让您更好地掌控学习进度。

可持续创新迎接未来
在《可持续创新迎接未来》课程中,您将学习解决粮食、运输、技术和医疗等领域中重大的全球可持续发展问题的技能。这门课会将您定位成一个关键角色,帮助您思考和探索在事业和生活中能如何应对这些代际挑战。这门课程将帮助您将自己设定为有能力和负责任的人,在跨学科团队中设计解决方案,并将您的想法传达给更广泛的受众。这是《学习创新》课程的核心部分,着重在充分运用学科认知来解决现实世界的问题。相关内容(供参考)包括可持续解决方案设计、项目工作、跨学科协作、利用学科认知、用数据做出明智的决策以及将审慎思考作为发展的关键驱动力。

所有学生还将参加个人辅导和学生领导力项目,并有资格参与可持续企业大赛。

理科数学

在理科数学课程中,您将学习在多种理学场景中应用数学方法、概念和理论。您将会提升以分析法解决问题的能力,然后选择并应用相应的技巧来解决问题,并使用术语和数学符号,以在英国大学取得学业上的成功。您将从改变世界的学科应用中得到启发,并探索现实世界中的案例,例如对空间电信和卫星至关重要的众多数学应用,包括萨里大学世界级太空中心的工作。课程内容(供参考)包括二次方程、对数、三角学、多项式函数、微分和积分。

细胞生物学和遗传学

在细胞生物学和遗传学课程中,您将学习识别生物学中的概念、方法和理论之间的关键联系。您会将生物学的理论、方法和原则应用于各种情况和问题,从而建立信心,并培养讨论实验结果意义、寻找解决方案和得出结论的技能。您将从改变世界的学科应用中得到启发,并探索现实世界中的案例,比如 2020 年获得诺贝尔奖的 CRISPR 基因编辑技术。课程内容(供参考)包括生物化学和细胞生物学、遗传学、生态学和实验技术。

核心化学

在核心化学课程中,您将学习使用成功获得英国理学学位所需的知识和准确术语来解决化学问题,解释化学现象。您将培养能力,自信交流化学中的基本科学思想、过程、技术和程序。您将从改变世界的学科应用中得到启发,并探索现实世界中的案例,例如生产氮肥的 Haber-Bosch 工艺,如果没有该工艺,世界人口数量只能维持在略高于当前人口数量一半的水平;或聚合酶链式反应 (PCR),这项技术使司法鉴定学、基因测序和无数的医疗应用成为可能。课程内容(供参考)包括公式、方程式和摩尔;粘结和力;氧化还原;过渡金属与热力学。

生命科学家的生理学

在生命科学家的生理学课程中,您将学习如何将生物学中的理论、方法和模型的知识应用于各种情况和问题,并使用科学术语,以在英国大学取得学业上的成功。您将培养分析和评估论点的技能,以展示对与生物学研究主题相关的主要争论领域的认识。此课程旨在通过解决问题来激发和建立您的信心,加深您对生理学的理解,使您作为未来的关键角色、学者和领导者进行有意义的创新。课程内容(供参考)涵盖能量转移,包括糖酵解和氧化磷酸化;植物向性;以及生理学,包括神经、肌肉骨骼、内分泌、心血管和免疫系统。

统计和分析

在《统计和分析》课程中,您将学习如何运用各种统计方法来分析和解读数据,然后阐明结论和论证过程。您将逐步熟练使用英国大学环境中要求的术语和符号,来证明某种统计方法对解决某个问题的适用性和解释局限性。作为第 2 学期的课程,这门课着重于统计学的应用、问题解决和创新。您可以积极运用批判性思维和创造力,在课程要素之间建立联系,并将您所学的内容应用在简化的现实世界场景中。课程内容(供参考)包括分析和呈现数据、统计建模、概率和分布、抽样和假设检验。

学科特定单元

专业方向:生命科学

应用化学

在应用化学课程中,您将学习如何将化学知识应用到现实生活中,并对科学如何产生影响有深刻的基本了解。您将培养分析和评估定量和定性信息的信心,以做出合理判断,找到解决方案并得出结论。您可以积极运用批判性思维和创造力,在课程要素之间建立联系,并将您所学的内容应用在简化的现实世界场景中。课程内容(供参考)包括化学平衡、环境化学、反应动力学以及质谱法等技术。

专业方向:生命科学与心理学

生命科学家的心理学

在生命科学家的生理学课程中,您将学习如何将生物学中的理论、方法和模型的知识应用于各种情况和问题,并使用科学术语,以在英国大学取得学业上的成功。您将培养分析和评估论点的技能,以展示对与生物学研究主题相关的主要争论领域的认识。此课程旨在通过解决问题来激发和建立您的信心,加深您对生理学的理解,使您作为未来的关键角色、学者和领导者进行有意义的创新。课程内容(供参考)涵盖能量转移,包括糖酵解和氧化磷酸化;植物向性;以及生理学,包括神经、肌肉骨骼、内分泌、心血管和免疫系统。

学习计划

九月入学

本科预科课程学习计划

一月入学

本科预科课程学习计划

升读学位

完成本项目后,您就可以攻读下表中的任一本科学位。成绩和升读学位仅供参考,可能会发生变化。

列出的所有学位(四年制)的课程中均包含在第二学年参加一年的专业培训,可供学生选择。您可以在升入大学前选择该选项。大一和大二时,萨里大学会提供相关指导和支持,帮助您找到合适的实习机会。

请注意:上面英语成绩栏中的 W 代表写作 = 60%,写作至少 50%,其他技能 40%。

请注意:

下列学位有附加条件

营养学与饮食学理学学士学位(荣誉)的名额有限:

  • 符合要求的申请者会受邀参加面试,并根据您在面试中的表现来决定是否录取。
  • 学生需要在 3 月底之前通过萨里大学的门户网站提交个人陈述,符合要求的申请者将受邀参加面试。学校会根据您的个人陈述和面试时的表现来决定是否录取。
  • 如果您未被营养学与饮食学课程录取,可改选营养学理学学士课程或营养与食品科学理学学士课程(以达到学术和英语升读成绩要求为前提)。

攻读 BVMSci 兽医学专业的额外入学要求:

可选择在国际学习中心 9 月和 1 月/2 月学期入学。请注意:根据开课日期,申请程序有所不同。

9 月申请

  • 申请兽医学专业的学生需在截止日期 10 月 15 日前提交 UCAS 申请,以便被纳入招生范围。
  • 申请 UCAS 之前,需要有 4 周的工作经验(包括一周的临床工作)。
  • 面试也是要求之一,录取将根据面试表现而定。如果您未被兽医学课程录取,可改选兽医生物科学课程(以达到学术和英语升读成绩要求为前提)。

在收到本科预科课程的录取通知书之前,学生需要填写《萨里大学兽医学免责声明书》,其中详细说明了整个申请流程。

1 月/2 月申请

  • 本科预科课程入学前:学生必须在 10 月 15 日前提交 UCAS 申请的证明,UCAS 申请必须说明学生将从 1 月/2 月起攻读萨里大学国际学习中心的本科预科课程,并且只在 1 月之后才可以参加面对面的面试。

请参考萨里大学网站或联系 admissions@surrey.ac.uk 查看您是否符合条件。

重要信息

课程时长:
两学期

入学时间:
11 月、1 月和 9 月

年龄:您必须至少年满 17 岁方可在国际学习中心学习并升读大学。

请访问我们的入学要求页面,了解学术、英语语言以及特定国家/地区入学要求的列表。

学期日期

November 2022
27/11/2022 - 18/5/2023
21/5/2023 - 17/8/2023
January 2023
29/1/2023 - 18/5/2023
21/5/2023 - 17/8/2023
September 2023
24/9/2023 - 1/2/2024
4/2/2024 - 30/5/2024
萨里大学的学生在读书

商务、经济、法律和社会科学

两学期的预科学习,衔接会计、企业管理、法律和政治学等多个领域的本科学位。了解学习内容和升读学位。

工程学学生和发动机

计算机、工程学和物理科学

本衔接项目为期两个学期,可助您升读工程学、科学或数学相关领域的本科学位。找到您将攻读和升读的学位。

Science student in lab

Life Sciences International Foundation Year

About this route

The Life Sciences International Foundation Year leads to a wide range of degrees in biology and chemistry-related subjects at the University of Surrey.

During the International Foundation Year you will study a core unit of general subject skills, and subject-specific units, which are carefully designed for your academic development.

If you need to improve your English language to reach the required level for your International Foundation Year, you can take our English Language Preparation programme.

Why study Life Sciences with us?

World-class academics
Our Life Sciences pathway leads to progression degrees in a range of exciting areas – each with their own reasons for study. Surrey’s biological degrees are accredited by the Royal Society of Biology, its chemistry degrees are vital to groundbreaking international research, and nutrition at Surrey is ranked third in the UK by The Times and Sunday Times Good University Guide 2022.

Practical work experience
After gaining a solid foundation on our Life Sciences pathway, you can progress to your undergraduate degree to continue developing your academic and employability skills. One way to do this is by taking a Professional Training Year, where you’ll be able to enter the workforce and put your practical skills to the test. As well as learning even more about your future career, a Professional Training Year is an excellent addition to your CV.

Develop transferable skills

Study with classmates planning to progress onto widely different degrees within Life Sciences. This means you’ll be working with a range of different people, developing transferable skills such as teamwork, problem solving and communication — all valuable attributes when you’re working within a company setting.

Core units

Academic English Skills
Academic English Skills aims to provide thorough training in the language and related academic skills which will enable international students to best achieve their academic potential at university. Our Academic English programme is validated by UK ENIC, the UK government agency responsible for providing information and expert opinion on qualifications and skills worldwide.

You will develop awareness and competency in a range of language-related academic skills, including the processes of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. You will also develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language required to use language effectively and appropriately, with clarity and confidence in an academic context.

Alongside your classes, your studies will be supported by an online learning platform, providing you with a range of tasks and activities specifically designed to develop and extend your language and academic skills outside the classroom and to give you more control over your own learning. 

Sustainable Innovation for Emerging Futures
On this Sustainable Innovation for Emerging Futures module, you will learn the skills to tackle key global sustainability issues head on in areas including food, transport, technology and healthcare. The module positions you as a key actor and helps you explore how you might respond to these generational challenges through your career and life. The module will help you see yourself as capable and responsible as you work in interdisciplinary teams to design solutions and communicate your ideas to a wider audience. This is a central part of the Learn to Innovate Curriculum and focuses on leveraging and applying disciplinary understanding to solve real-world problems. Indicative content includes sustainable solution design, project work, interdisciplinary collaboration, leveraging disciplinary understanding, using data to make informed decisions, and reflection as a key driver of development.

All students also take part in Personal Tutorials, the Student Leadership Programme and are eligible to enter the Sustainable Enterprise Competition.

Mathematics for Science

In the Mathematics for Science module you will learn to apply mathematical methods, concepts and theories in a range of scientific scenarios. You will develop your ability to approach problems analytically then select and deploy techniques to solve them using the terminology and mathematical notation needed for success in UK University study. You will be inspired by applications of your subject that have changed the world and explore real world case studies such as the innumerable applications of mathematics crucial to space telecommunication and satellites including the work of the University of Surrey’s world-class Space Centre. Indicative module content includes quadratic equations, logarithms, trigonometry, polynomial functions, differentiation and integration.

Cell Biology and Genetics

In the Cell Biology and Genetics module you will learn to identify key connections between concepts, methods and theories in biology. You will build confidence applying theories, methods and principles in biology to a variety of situations and problems, and develop the skills to discuss the significance of experimental results, find solutions and draw conclusions. You will be inspired by applications of your subject that have changed the world and explore real world case studies such the 2020 Nobel-prize-winning work on CRISPR DNA techniques that has transformed gene-editing. Indicative module content includes biochemistry and cell biology, genetics, ecology and experimental technique.

Core Chemistry

In the Core Chemistry module you will learn to solve problems and explain phenomena in chemistry drawing on the knowledge and using the accurate terminology you need for success on UK science degrees. You will build confidence communicating fundamentals scientific ideas, processes, techniques and procedures in chemistry. You will be inspired by applications of your subject that have changed the world and explore real world case studies such as the Haber-Bosch process for nitrogen fertiliser production without which the world's population could only be sustained at just over half its current level, or the PCR, which allows forensic science, genetic sequencing and innumerable medical applications. Indicative module content includes formulae, equations and moles; bonding and forces; redox; transition metals and thermodynamics.

Physiology for Life Scientists

In the Physiology for Life Scientists module you will learn how to apply knowledge of theories, methods, and models in biology to a variety of situations and problems using scientific terminology appropriate to UK University study. You will develop the skills to analyse and evaluate arguments demonstrating an awareness of key areas of debate relevant to research themes within biology. The module will motivate you and build your confidence through problem solving such that you come to see how deepening your understanding of Physiology might enable you to meaningfully innovate as a key actor, scholar and leader of tomorrow. Indicative module content includes energy transfer including glycolysis and oxidative phosphorylation; plant tropism; and physiology including nervous, musculoskeletal, endocrine, cardiovascular and immune systems.

Statistics and Analysis

In the Statistics and Analysis module you will learn how to analyse and interpret data using a variety of statistical approaches and then communicate your conclusions and reasoning. You will develop the confidence to justify the suitability of a statistical approach to a problem and explain any limitations using terminology and notation required in a UK University context. As a semester 2 module within this curriculum arc, the module includes a focus on applications, problem solving and innovation within statistics. You will be encouraged to employ critical thinking and creativity as you make links between curriculum elements and apply your learning to simplified real-world scenarios. Indicative module content includes analysing and presenting data, statistical modelling, probability and distributions, sampling and hypothesis testing.

Subject specific units

Route: Life Science

Chemistry Applied

In the Chemistry Applied module you will learn to transfer knowledge of chemistry to real-world situations with a strong fundamental understanding of how science works. You will build confidence analysing and evaluating quantitative and qualitative information to make reasoned judgements, find solutions and draw conclusions. You will be encouraged to employ critical thinking and creativity as you make links between curriculum elements and apply your learning to simplified real-world scenarios. Indicative module content includes chemical equilibria, environmental chemistry, reaction kinetics, techniques such as mass spectrometry, and reaction kinetics.

Route: Life Science with Psychology

Psychology for Life Scientists

In the Physiology for Life Scientists module you will learn how to apply knowledge of theories, methods, and models in biology to a variety of situations and problems using scientific terminology appropriate to UK University study. You will develop the skills to analyse and evaluate arguments demonstrating an awareness of key areas of debate relevant to research themes within biology. The module will motivate you and build your confidence through problem solving such that you come to see how deepening your understanding of physiology might enable you to meaningfully innovate as a key actor, scholar and leader of tomorrow. Indicative module content includes energy transfer including glycolysis and oxidative phosphorylation; plant tropism; and physiology including nervous, musculoskeletal, endocrine, cardiovascular and immune systems.

Study plans

September intake

International Foundation Year study plan

January intake

International Foundation Year study plan

Why join this November?

Join us in November and stay on track to progress to your degree in September 2023.

By starting the 3-term International Foundation Year in November, you will benefit from three additional weeks of study and life skills before commencing your main pathway programme in January 2023. There will be no additional tuition fee for this period, and this will provide you with a great opportunity for an enhanced student experience focusing on three key areas: orientation; practical support and academic and digital skills. Topics will include a digital skills health check; managing your money; practical tips on finding study and life balance; and an introduction to assessments in UK higher education.

What will I study in the additional three weeks?  

You’ll benefit from a 15-hour per week face-to-face classes, allowing you to:

  • feel more confident and better prepared for the start of your January programme of study
  • practice your English by interacting with the fellow students and build friendships
  • assess your own digital skills proficiency
  • meet the key Centre staff who will provide advice for success
  • familiarise yourselves with the support available
  • apply a range of academic study skills to meet your individual needs
  • have more time to adapt to the UK life and settle in before you begin your January programme.

Are there any additional cost or fees?

There will be no additional tuition fee, as November starts will have the same tuition fee as the respective January programme. However, there will be additional costs to consider, as expected with being in the UK for a longer period (i.e. accommodation). If you request accommodation on your application form, our Central Student Support Team will contact you directly in October regarding the options available.

Progression degrees 

This programme can lead to one of the undergraduate degrees in the table below. Grades and progression degrees are guidelines and subject to change.

All degrees listed include the option to undertake the Professional Training Year programme in year two of a four year degree. You will be able to select the option before you progress to the University. The University of Surrey will provide guidance and support in year one and two in helping you to find the right placement.

Please note: W in the above English Grade column stands for writing = 60% with min 50% in writing, 40% in all other skills.

Degree Programme NameAwardOverall GradeEnglish Grade
No Results

Please note:

There are limited places on offer for the BSc (Hons) Nutrition & Dietetics degree:

  • Suitable applicants are invited to an interview and offers are made based on your performance at interview.
  • If you are not offered a place on the Nutrition & Dietetics programme, you can progress onto the BSc Nutrition or the BSc Nutrition and Food Science programme (subject to achieving the required academic and English progression grades).

There are additional entry requirements for BVMSci Veterinary Medicine and Science:

Available for progression from both the ISC September and January/February intakes. Please note: there is a different application process dependent on the intake.

September applications:

  • Applicants wishing to be considered for Vet Med will need to submit their UCAS application by the deadline of 15th October in order to be considered.
  • 4 weeks of work experience being required prior to UCAS application.
  • An interview is also required and offers are made based on your performance at interview. If you are not offered a place on the Veterinary Medicine and Science programme, you can progress onto the Veterinary Biosciences programme (subject to achieving the required academic and English progression grades).

Students will need to fill out the Surrey Vet Med Disclaimer Form, which explains the full application process in detail, prior to receiving an offer.

January/February applications:

  • Before the International Foundation Year: students must submit evidence of UCAS application submitted by 15th October - the UCAS application must note that the student will be studying the Surrey ISC International Foundation Year from January/February and will only be available for the February interview period.

Please see the University of Surrey website or contact admissions@surrey.ac.uk to find out if you are eligible.

Key facts

Course length:
Two semesters

Entry points:
November, January and September

Age: you must be at least 17 years old to study at the International Study Centre and progress to the University.

Visit our entry requirements page for a list of academic, English language and country-specific entry requirements.

Term dates

September 2022
25/9/2022 - 2/2/2023
5/2/2023 - 1/6/2023
November 2022
27/11/2022 - 18/5/2023
21/5/2023 - 17/8/2023
January 2023
29/1/2023 - 18/5/2023
21/5/2023 - 17/8/2023
September 2023
24/9/2023 - 1/2/2024
4/2/2024 - 30/5/2024
Surrey graduates smiling

Prepare for Success

5 weeks before your selected course you will be automatically enrolled in our Prepare for Success online programme in order to help you get everything you need.

Discover more

New November start

If you want to be better prepared for the start of your January programme of study, join us in November.

University of Surrey landscape

Download prospectus

Our prospectus is now available.

Download
Surrey students reading books

Business, Economics, Law and Social Sciences

A two-semester pathway to a wide range of undergraduate degrees in areas such as accounting, business management, law and politics. Find out what you will study and progression degrees.

Engineering student with engine

Computing, Engineering and Physical Sciences

A two-semester pathway to an undergraduate degree in fields related to engineering, science or mathematics. Find out what you will study and progression degrees.